Day structures

Childcare day structures outside school

There are a number of terms used in day-to-day life, like after-school care centers, nurseries, pupils' clubs, family day-care providers, lunch services or day schools. What these terms all have in common is that they represent the overall childcare offer tailored to the needs of children and young persons from birth until the end of compulsory education.

The Office of Primary Schools is responsible for the day structures outside schools between pre-school up and until secondary school. The new Act on Compulsory Education requires municipalities to make such offers in the mornings, at lunchtime and in the afternoon, starting with the school year 09/10. The local authorities are responsible for the offer of day structures, with bigger cities offering a greater variety of after-school care centers up to day schools and childcare during holidays. In general, one can choose from different fee-based modules and the parents co-finance them under consideration of their income. Pre-school childcare and private after-care centers are under the aegis of the Office of Youth and Careers Guidance‌ (OYCG). The term they commonly use is childcare.

Financial support by the federal government

Since 2003, the federal government has offered financial aid for childcare outside schools upon request. Newly established childcare facilities with a minimum of 10 places on 4 days a week and existing facilities that add at least 10 new places to their offer are entitled to apply for such contributions. Please find the exact details and conditions for the application for such contributions on the website of the Federal Social Insurance Office

Structures d'accueil de jour

Structures d'accueil de jour extra-scolaires et extra-familiales

Les mots garderie, crèche, club des élèves, accueil familial de jour, accueil de midi ou écoles à journée continue sont des termes que l'on entend au quotidien. Tous ces termes ont en commun le fait qu'ils caractérisent la totalité des offres d'accueil adaptées aux besoins des enfants et des adolescents, ce de la naissance à la fin de la période de scolarité obligatoire.

L'Office des écoles primaires est responsable des structures d'accueil de jour extra-scolaires, de l'école enfantine jusqu'au deuxième cycle. La nouvelle loi sur l'école obligatoire oblige les communes depuis l'année scolaire 09/10 à proposer des offres adaptées le matin, le midi et l'après-midi. L'offre de structures d'accueil de jour est régie au niveau communal et est donc différemment développée, sachant que les plus villes de plus grande importance bénéficient d'une offre plus large : cela va de la garderie de jour jusqu'à l'école à journée continue et à l'accueil pendant les vacances. En règle générale, les offres sont modulables, payantes et sont co-financées par les parents compte tenu de leurs revenus. L'accueil dans le secteur préprimaire et les garderies privées relèvent de la compétence de l'Office de la jeunesse et de l'orientation professionnelle (OJOP). Il s'agit là de structures d'accueil extra-familiales.

Soutien financier de la Confédération

Depuis 2003, la Confédération octroie, sur demande, une aide financière pour la prise en charge extra-scolaire et extra-familiale des enfants. Cette contribution est accordée lorsque de nouvelles offres d'accueil comprenant au moins 10 places pendant quatre jours de la semaine sont créées et lorsque des offres existantes sont étendues à 10 places au moins. Les conditions exactes pour l'octroi de cette aide sont indiquées sur le site Internet de l'Office fédéral des assurances sociales.